TOEFL essay: Some students prefer to study alone. Others prefer to study with a group of student. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different views about which factor affects children the most in their lives. While there are many factors which have significant impacts on their development, I believe that the most important one is their family. On the one hand, children are influenced by a wide range of factors due to the way that they acquire knowledge. It is scientifically proved that youngsters learn primarily by observing and imitating what they witness. This is the reason why everything going on around children such as television, music and friends can bring enormous effects to their development. For example, there is evidence that if a child watches violent TV shows on a regular basis, he or she will be more likely to become a school bully, in comparison with the ones who do not. On the other hand, family performs the most vital role in children’s maturity because of their lack of moral awareness. According to research, although children are able to learn new things rapidly; they, especially the younger ones, normally have a poor sense of right and wrong. As a result, it is essential for them to be oriented by their parents, who are in the closest proximity to them, to become respectable citizens in the future. For instance, in order to help their offspring have a solid academic foundation, which is apparently crucial for their future careers; parents can easily encourage them to spend long time studying both in and after school by giving them suitable rewards. In conclusion, I can understand why children are affected considerably by a variety of factors. However, it seems to me that family is the one having the most powerful influence on their development as a result of the above-mentioned reasons.