TOEFL essay: A company is going to give some money either to support the arts or to protect the environment. Which do you think the company should choose? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Donations are one of the primary sources of funds for many events, firms, NGOs, etc. They can be provided by Government or Private Companies as a help solving problems various problems in society. Some would prefer to donate the money to the artistic movement, but I think it should be used to solve environmental pollution. The continuous use of conventional energy resources like fossil fuels, nuclear power plants have polluted the environment, and there is an urgent need to prevent it. The ways in which this fund can help in the aforementioned cause is explored in this essay. First of all, this fund can help in setting up the newly found non-conventional energy source such as solar power plants, Ocean thermal energy conversion power plants. A huge amount of money is required in building these plants, and governments are struggling to collect that much money. So, if a donation by a private firm is made it would definitely help in this cause. As a result, if these plants are completed, they can potentially replace the polluting conventional energy sources and can help in preventing the pollution of the earth ecosystem. Moreover, unlike fossil fuels, these sources of energy are renewable, which means they do not get exhausted by continuous use. So, there will be no pressure over the earth from the extraction of energy from these resources. Second, it would help in making available latest technologies for the treatment of polluted air in some poor countries. Many nations are suffering from polluted air taking the lives of thousands of peoples every day: causing lung cancer and many other dangerous diseases. From this donation, polluting industries can replace old machines with new technologies which produce less pollution. Consequently, degradation of environment will be reduced and fewer peoples will die because of it. For the above-mentioned reasons, I think it is better to donate money to reduce pollution rather than in the field of arts. It would not only help governments in the production of new non-polluting power plants but more importantly will save the lives of thousands of people.