Today, TV channels broadcast man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal showtime for women’s sport and men’s sport?

There is a contentious issue regarding sports media have been dominated by sportsmen, leaving sportswomen with very little attention. In this essay, I am to speculate the reasons behind this phenomenon and to argue about female sports programs should be allocated more time. It is clear that female sports programs are being given less TV coverage. One reason is the deep-rooted notion about sports are limited to men and not suitable for women. In other words, they insist that women need to be gentle, modest and tender and should not be involved in brutal sports such as wrestling and football. As a result, fewer women engage in sports, leading to fewer events for women on TV. Furthermore, sports involving men are more competitive and thrilling to enjoy. This is because men are innately stronger and more aggressive, which makes their shows seemingly more sensational and dramatic. Therefore, people generally prefer watching men performing sports to women, and the television industry can generate more profits from matches and contests played by men. However, I would argue that TV coverage should not be biased towards men’s sport and female athletes should receive equal opportunities. If male sports programs continue to obtain significantly more coverage than the programs of their opposite sex, it might increase gender inequality, which is one of the most serious issues in many parts of the world today. Secondly, balanced screen time also helps to promote a healthy lifestyle to women. Since television has a large audience reach, it would motivate them to exercise and thus improve their well-being and happiness. Last but not least, more showing time may attract additional investments from sponsors, which in turn positively affect wage rates of sportswomen. In conclusion, the reasons behind men’s dominance in sports shows are the sexist views ingrained in some people’s mentality and the fact that men’s shows might be more appealing. My firm conviction is to ensure equal showing time thanks to its benefits which have been brought to humankind.