Should university penalize students for late submission of their work?

In today's fast paced life, penalizing students has grown at an exponential rate. Some like-minded people foster this thinking that university should penalize students for late submission of their work. My views are in harmony with this ideology. The following paragraphs tend to highlight some important aspects of this issue. There are numerous arguments surrounding my viewpoint, but the most important factor that needs to be considered is that penalizing students can not only contribute to better holistic growth, but also lead to numerous other benefits in various fields. In other words, it is asserted that penalizing students helps in maintaining discipline. For example, according to the report published by the Time's magazine, 2010 edition, the usage of penalizing students in India has by 30%. Therefore, penalizing students plays a key role in society. Another key justification for supporting this notion is that penalizing students is only likely to help one thrive and excel in varied areas by increasing knowledge. Needless to say, along with wide of advantages it offers, penalizing students enhancing confidence. As a tangible example, some scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that growth of penalizing students is correlated positively with overall development. Thus, penalizing students plays a key role in society. In the light of above discussion, it is fair and justifiable to say that university should penalize students for late submission of their work. Hence, it should be promoted by all means.