Today, there are a lot of problems of traffic jams and congestion on the road, should we build up wider roads; or should we improve public transport and make it free to reduce traffic.

Nowadays, traffic jams and choked roads have become a major problem in metropolitan cities, owing to this, people have to face several problems: waiting in a long queue for long hours, frequent accidents, breaking down vehicles. That's why some argue that the roads should be wider and others consider public transportation should be free fare to tackle the problem of traffic congestion on roads. I believe that providing free travelling to commuters can be a great idea but it is not a palatable way to reduce this problem. Free transportation indeed can be reduced traffic congestion on roads. If people have free transport facility then they will feel reluctant to use private vehicles such as motorbikes and cars because they often spend huge money on diesel and petrol. So, free transport will not only save money but it will also keep the environmental pollution-free along with eradicating traffic on highways. On the flip side, if the government provide free public transport may it rise a plethora of problems: have to allocate a huge amount of money from the budget of the government and thus it is not possible to run it for the long term. Moreover, having free public transport will generally be used by everyone, as to consequence, it would only not be overcrowded but also it would make the journey uncomfortable and inconvenient. To exemplify, in India, women have free bus amenities to commute in Punjab and Delhi state, and almost all public buses can be seen overcrowded, even they have to wait for a long time to catch them. I believe that the government should improve public transport like buses, trains and tram should be run around the clock, hence people can use these with any obstacle, as the majority of people don't prefer journey by public transport because they have to wait for a long time so it should be reliable and frequent. To conclude, although free public transport can be a relevant idea to take the problem of choking up roads and traffic congestion, yet it is not an appropriate way to manage this problem. so the government should improve public transportation in providing frequent and reliable.