Today, the workplace is generally shifting towards an open-plan design with aesthetically pleasing spaces enclosing rows of desks stretching as far as the eye can see, with co-workers collaborating over foosball, and groups discussing plans while having coffee in neatly decorated meeting corners. While a number of may think that there are a range of advantages to this type of station space, I believe that its benefits cannot compensate for its drawbacks.

Today, the workplace is generally shifting towards an open-plan design with aesthetically pleasing spaces enclosing rows of desks stretching as far as the eye can see, with co-workers collaborating over foosball, and groups discussing plans while having coffee in neatly decorated meeting corners. While a number of may think that there are a range of advantages to this type of station space, I believe that its benefits cannot compensate for its drawbacks. To begin, open commission plans can make workers feel closer to one another, which consequently enhances interaction. The absence of walls or other physical obstacles allows employees to communicate with one another on a frequent basis. The continual intermingling not only fosters a sense of camaraderie among them, but it also improves the flow of collaboration. Colleagues can seek advice from others without having to knock on doors or plan a formal meeting. As a result, discussions are more frequent and casual than in closed situations where everyone has their own station space. In contrast, an open-plan workspace can create major disadvantages that greatly affect the business. The high level of everyday interaction that takes place in an undivided work space may lead to noise and distractions that make it difficult for employees to focus and conduct business. Another possible issue with open-plan commission is lack of privacy, as computer screens are plainly visible to passers-by and phone calls are likely to be overheard. Employees in open workspaces therefore must go to great lengths to maintain their focus, whether that means wearing over-ear headphones, placing a “busy” sign on their desks, or even leaving their desks entirely to work in quieter areas. Employees become wary about approaching their peers as a result of these coping methods. Another underlying problem of open-plan workplaces is that workers' health might suffer, as being in close quarters can boost the transmission of germs. In conclusion, although I do think that the idea open-plan office offers a more active and equal work environment, its downsides are far too damaging to a business that a lot of consideration and supervision is needed in order to implement it successfully.