pros and cons of alternative energy

Although fossil fuels are ubiquitous in many industrial areas around the world, some countries have experienced dramatic shifts in alternative resources like wind or solar power. At first, it might have hardships to pursue these sustainable energies, but I think this change will bring merits in the long term. On the one hand, governments and companies might have a heavy financial burden as they will have to research and develop new facilities and new equipment when using green power. For instance, the minimal cost of installing solar pannels as well as having professionals to maintain them for a middle-top for a factory is approximately 1 million dollars. Therefore, low-income countries find it complicated to participate in the green energy campaign. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that this positive shift is a sustainable and worthwhile investment for the long run. Firstly, overusing fossil fuels results in a hefty amount of CO2 released, which is the main cause of green house effects and global warming. Consequently, switching to green power can minimize the exhaust fumes and improve our Ozon layer. Secondly, fossil fuels like coal and oil will be gradually depleted after a long time of over-harvesting. Nonetheless, natural forces such as wind, water, and solar panels have a long enough lifespan to replace conventional energy when it runs out. To sum up, I strongly believe that the switch from traditional power sources to green resources brings more long-term benefits to the planet despite their first high cost of installing and purchasing them.