Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

Since time immemorial, in the rural areas, the quality of life has always been poor. However, in the recent years, this issue has expanded to metropolitan as well. This essay will illustrate some reasons contributing to this issue and will also elicit certain measures that can help the authorities and individuals to rectify this problem of decay in quality of life in large cities. To begin with, population explosion is a factor of utmost importance, which has led to surge in house rents. As a result, the locals have to settle for cheaper residential areas with inadequate facilities. Secondly, increased pollution of potable water reserves and air due to industrialization and urbanization has caused many major diseases. Furthermore, in the recent times, the crime rate has risen drastically which is also a cause of great concern. National authorities, on the other hand, can improve the living standards by implementing public education schemes regarding birth control to reduce population increase. Strict national legislation for preventing water reserves from contaminated acids and air from hazardous smokes are the need of the hour. Surge in crime can be controlled by installing CCTV cameras throughout the city to monitor and eradicate any nefarious activity. To conclude, pollution, population and crime have overwhelmingly deteriorating impact on citizen’s life in big cities. However, if, in the future, the authorities and individuals join hands to overcome this concern, there is a good reason to believe that these issues will entirely fade away and ultimately the society will flourish.