Today people often buy what they need and want via online. From your experience, what are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shop online?

In this era of information technology, technological advances have brought revolutions upon revolutions in this technological world. People can do a lot of things online, online shopping is one of the major products of these revolutions. Besides, both individuals and companies have their own ups and downs with online shopping. In my experience, here are some examples of the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shop online. First and foremost, the most prominent advantages that the companies enjoy with online shopping is the decrease in expenses. Companies do not have to invest in some places such as, staffs’ office, rental fees, maintenance and many more. With online shopping, companies now only have to own large enough warehouses for stock. Those transportation fees will also be paid by the consumers. Companies just have to make sure that the items which are sold for the consumers are in a good condition. From the consumers’ point of view, the most important reason is the convenience. Online shopping will be very useful for the people who are really busy in working. They can do shopping anywhere online or from their comfort of their home. The consumers are able to do shopping when they are free. Also, they do not need to rush to the place and just buy an item that they need. The shoppers just have to pay for the transportation fees and the items are able to reach your home. Ultimately, the transportation costs may be even less compared with the costs of travelling by the consumers’ car. On the other end of the spectrum, online shopping might have its own challenges for companies to overcome. There will be many customers which were in different countries. Sometimes, companies might have a lot of work in the process of allocating the parcels to the right country and place. Furthermore, some new companies will have some challenges to handle the good condition of the items as they are new. Scams pose the bad comments and affect the companies’ reputation. For the new and small companies, they can’t handle until it finally collapses as no costumers will take a risk to buy an item by seeing the bad comments. In the eyes of consumer, there are some cons in online shopping. Sometimes, consumers might receive bad condition items. With online shopping, shoppers just look at the pictures of the products, they can’t feel the quality of the products. The items might be spoilt as being damaged in the process of transportation or the quality is not that good as consumers can’t check via online. To recapitulate, online shopping is the best choice for those who are busy at work, but buying in the shop and checking the quality of the products will be better. However, online shopping is also significant, as we can see now, in the times of pandemic, online shopping becomes a major platform that keeps the economy from collapsing. Also, online shopping is being improved and made safer for everyone.