Today people are living in a throwaway society where they use things for a short time only and then throw them away. What are the causes of this and what problems can it lead to?

Nowadays, our society has experienced a boom in mass consumption of short-lived goods. And many people purchase certain things and then get rid of them without even using them to the fullest. Firstly, I will discuss one possible cause and, secondly, it will analyze the harmful consequences it could lead to. The one of principal causes is the fast fashion industry, where the companies are launching cheap and fashionable products every now and then, because of which, people get attracted and buy low-quality things they like without hesitation. Thus, these days customers try buying the latest, novelty items in order to keep up with current fashion trends. As a result, goods are often replaced even before the uselessness runs out. For instance, most people who frequently update their wardrobe throw away their clothes after the day of purchase because they would be embarrassed to wear an outfit to a special occasion more than once. As a consequence of this trend, the environment is being devastated by the increased volume of fast fashion items. Hence, more and more clothes are disposed of by customers creating a huge amount of textile waste which leads to environmental deterioration. For example, as more than half of fabric fibers are now synthetics, so if and when our clothing ends up in a landfill it will not decay. It’s also the number of raw materials used to produce the items such as water. A huge quantity of freshwater is used for the dyeing and finishing process for all of our clothes. This generates tremendous pressure on this precious resource, already scarce, and has dramatic ecological consequences such as the desertification In conclusion, one of the main causes, why we have become a throw-away society, is fast fashion trends might result a huge waste and resource scarcity.