Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas.

With the rise of globalisation, transportation and communication improvised, resulting in a boom in the international trade. As a result, goods produced in one country became easily available in the other countries. Hence, it is not a surprise that supermarkets too became flooded with imported food items like olives imported from Spain or shortbread from England. However, this trend of overseas import poses a lot of potential threats and I strongly believe that supermarkets should sell food items produced within the country. Firstly, procuring food from other countries puts the local food industry at a loss. This directly impacts the lives of farmers and the numerous local industries involved in food processing. As a result, unemployment is increased and the financial security of the citizens especially farmers is compromised with. Secondly, imported food sold in the malls, often falls under the brands of multinational companies. These giant companies procure raw materials in bulk, thereby putting the ecology at risk. An example to this is the injudicious clearance of palm forests for extracting palm oil, which has endangered the Orangutang species. Also, export of food carries a huge ecological cost in terms of fuel used for transportation, causing a significant increase in the carbon footprint. Moreover, these companies often setup their processing units in developing countries, employing cheap labours with little or no consideration of the labour rights. In addition to this, the surplus production creates whopping food wastage, with tonnes of expired food bottles or jars landing into the trash can. In terms of nutritive value too, packaged and preserved foods often scores low. On the other hand, selling food produced in ones own country increases employment opportunities. In turn, this not only increases the gross national production but also gives a boom to the nation's economy. The processing of food can be done in a regulated manner, in lines with the local demands, thereby reducing over-exploitation of resources. Moreover, stringent food quality checks become easier to exercise. The government can keep a closer look into the working conditions of the labour employed. Also, the food items need not be extensively preserved, as the trade distance reduces. Therefore, more fresh food can be expected on the plate. While a global world necessitates trade amongst countries, it can be ensured that the food industry be excluded from it. A myriad of other industries like automobiles, shipping, information technology exist in which international trade can be conducted. Food industry should remain exclusively confined to the own country and only locally produced foods should be sold in the markets. This is essential for the nation's food security as well as food safety.