Most schools offer some type of physical education program to their students. Why is it important? Should physical education classes be required or optional? ommb

Exercise is one of the programs that has been included in the curriculum by most schools. There is a constant debate about whether physical activities are required or not. I would like to address both views prior to concluding either of them. To start with, on one side of the coin, many argue that physical education is an essential program that ought to be encouraged and taught to students. Firstly, this helps in maintaining the mental and physical health of a child which in turn keeps a child energetic, fit and resistant to various diseases. To illustrate, kids who play outdoors, such as in grass and sand develop a better immune system than kids who stay indoors and in sterile conditions. Secondly, it helps in decreasing the risk of health conditions such as diabetes and obesity. Furthermore, a recent study has revealed that indulgence in these activities do not let students sneak time for electronic gadgets. Lastly, physical programs are crucial in inculcating values such as team spirit, co-existence and cooperation. Therefore, the array of benefits makes it an inevitable part of the school’s curriculum. On the flip side of the coin, there are people who are against those programs being a part of a student’s education. To begin with, exercise for long might tire children and also affect academics. Also, students who have disabilities might not be a part of this program. These impairments might lower the morale of a child and make them physically and mentally inactive. Instead, if programs such as soft skills, computer numeracy and arts being a part of the curriculum can be helpful. Hence these are a few cons of this program. To sum up, the pros of physical education ought to be mandatory for students who are capable, as this nourishes the growth of children. In light of the cons, students with impairments should be kept in mind and be provided with an alternative program.