Today much of the food people eat gets imported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalisation has a considerable impact on food choices and diversity. People now are able to eat various meat, vegetables and fruits imported from other countries all around the world. While there are some disadvantages of food import such as bringing threat to the local farmers and create more pollution to the environment, I still think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. It is true that the transportation of imported items requires more burning fuel, and the carbon dioxide and other gasses released by the plane have a detrimental impact on the environment. Another negative impact is that local farmers will not be able to compete with the large international market and may stop producing food all together. This would mean that we would have to import even more food, creating a loop of people running out of business and more food being imported. Despite these possible disadvantages, the various benefits of imported food cannot be overlooked. Importing food gives people access to more choices, allowing them to choose between several products. This is especially essential when the local climate and soil do not allow growing certain kinds of fruits and vegetables. It is thanks to imported foods that people in subtropical countries can eat tropical fruit such as mangoes, pineapple, and coconut anytime they desire. While some farmers and food producers think that importing food leads to a higher unemployment rate, it has actually created more openings to the public. In order to maintain the import-export flow, more people are needed to make sure that the entire process functions well, while obeying all the importing rules and regulations. In conclusion, although food import might bring some threats to the environment and domestic farmers, the benefits it brings to peoples life and economic development weighs more than the drawbacks.