Today much of the food people eat get imported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that a lot of food which we are currently eating are imported from faraway farms. I do think that we get more benefits from such kind of food supply chain than we lose. Admittedly, there are shortcomings during the process of faraway production and transportation. First, the transportation caused by long-distance supply is not environmentally friendly. During transportation, those planes, ships, and tracks produce gas pollution such as CO2 and SO2, which would accelerate the procedure of global warming. Caused by the growth of concentrate farming in the past few decades, the mass production of food caused a lot of environmental problems around the plants such as water pollution and deterioration of land. However, producing food in some places and deliver them all over the world have many advantages. As production is concentrated, the process of producing food can be more efficient because farmers can now choose the best place to farm. With the better choice of the location, the yearly output can be maximized, and the transportation becomes more convenient. Meanwhile, by reducing the number of farms, food supplied to the whole world is produced in several or even one plant. In this way, the quality of one product can be exactly the same, no matter where people buy them. In conclusion, even though long-distance shipping has many shortcomings, reducing the number of farms makes production more efficient and stable. In the future, more renewable energy should be used during transportation in order to protect the environment.