Today, more young couples decide to have a single child. What are the reasons? Do you think the advantages of having siblings outnumber the disadvantages?

These days, an increasing number of couples tend to have an only child instead of having siblings. There are many reasons to explain this tendency. In my point of view, there are both pros as well as cons of this trend, although I believe that having siblings has more benefits than drawbacks. To begin with, there are some demonstrations for people’s choice of having a single child. The first point is financial burden. Raising children is very expensive, because there are many fees that parents have to spend such as tuition fees, medication, activity classes. Therefore, with one child, parents not only feel relieved about burden finance but also provide the best services possible in terms of good school or medical help. Moreover, parents who have one child have much time to complete their job since they do not need to spend too much time to take care of their children. As a results, the income increasing means the living standard improving highly. Secondly, many people claimed that parents could establish a close connection more easily with one child. Having only one child ease parents can devote all their love and freetime to the child. This would help parents have more time to make a conservation with their child and share with them about things in life. This would enable to build a strong bond between each member in famliy. The benefits of having a single child is not deniable; however, having siblings is a worthy choice that have more advantages than disadvantages. One of the clearest advantages is that the children would not feel lonely, because they would have a brother or a sister beside them during happy times likewise troubled times. There may be different opinions between parents and children because of a generation gap. Hence, there are many things which children can not discuss and talk openly with parents. Nevertheless, if children have siblings, they could tell him or her all things whether in relation to relationship, career, and many other things. Another advantage is that children can share the household chores instead of doing all the houseworks by themself. On the other hand, the biggest disadvantage of having siblings is that there will be a jealousy. Having siblings also means the attention of parents have to be shared with all of the children. Consequently, the young sometimes think that parents do not take care of them as much as their siblings. In summary, there are enormous benefits of having an only child that explain this tendency in many couples. Despite that fact, benefits of having siblings outweigh the drawbacks.