Nowadays more and more people are studying Ielts. Is there a negative or positive development?

In recent years, the number of people who attend ielts course to achieve an ielts certificate has increased dramatically. In my view, this trend has both adverse and beneficial impacts on people studying ielts. On the one hand, learning ielts is of great value to our development. One of the most positve outcomes is that improving English language skills. When people study ielts, they must practice all 4 skills of listening, speaking, reading and writing and approach to a variety of rich grammar, vocabulary and social knowledge. In addition, they may learn numerous tips in each skill. Therefore, they are able to move up at the higher level than people who do not study ielts. Secondly, getting an ielts certificate can bring a lot of job opportunities. It is undeniably true that most of companies in the world require employees mastering English language skills. Instead of testing many exams, people just have to show an ielts certificate as a reliable measure to have a higher chance to apply for a job in large and renowed companies. Thus, studying ielts is needed for all steps and stages of one’s life. On the other hand, studying ielts has some negative consequences. Firstly, attending an ielts course is quite time and energy consuming. A learner, for instance, if he wants a 6. 5 band score, he will take 1 or 2 years to achieve this band, which may cost much time. Moreover, he must learn abundant theories and practice many times, leading to some health problems such as eye strain, back and wrist pain. Secondly, learning ielts costs an arm and a leg. Travel, tuition, books, supplies and exam expenses is around 4350, 4$ which can be a family’s finances. So parents who have children learning ielts may bear a financial burden. In conclusion, stuyding ielts can have some plus points although there are many minus points