Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara or the Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In the present world, many travellers exploring various places throughout the world, examples being Sahara Desert or cold countries like Antarctica and Alaska. Although, some precisely face many hurdles in their survival techniques, others will be very excited to visit such places. This essay emphasizes on both merits and demerits experienced by the backpackers while visiting such places. Firstly, there are many advantages for the people as they expose to different habitats, practices and cultural heritages. They carry self-skills, knowledge to new areas, incorporate their habits with other domiciles leading to production of innovative ideas, new skills, techniques as well as help in fostering creativity. For instance, in places like Antarctica we can try ice skating, snowboarding which gives immense fun and pleasure. They can have a view of snow animals such as polar bears, penguins, clicking photographs and selfies with them giving life time memorable moments. In addition to this, visiting desserts aid in understanding diverse survival techniques. Due to any sudden unexpected conditions such as plane crash, insufficiency of fuel while travelling in choppers, people may land in desserts. It is imperative for them to know different survival techniques and find the way out for themselves. Hence, people become familiar with all these aspects only when they travel seldom to desserts during vacations. Secondly, tourism results in some demerits too. To illustrate, abrupt drastic climatic events such as ice storm, sand storm, heavy rainfalls bring menaces to passengers. Not only these, but also other calamities like tsunamis, earthquakes, volcanoes are very dangerous. Many such kind of natural events took place in our country. To exemplify, severe floods in 2012 in Kedarnath, spared the lives of many tourists. Apart from those, other health related problems being frost bites, hematomas generally occur in cold places. However, hot temperatures above 50-degree Celsius can produce severe skin burns. People who suffer from endocrine diseases like hypothyroidism, hyperthyroidism cannot tolerate excessive heat and cold weather circumstances. Due to this, people should be vigilant when travelling to such areas. To conclude, there are both pros and cons for the pilgrims who travel wide variety of places. I strongly recommend people to muster all information about risks and benefits of the specific place and take necessary precautions for safe travelling.