Some countries improve their economy to gain a high standard of living, but some social values can be lost during this transition. Give your opinion and examples.

We live in an era of unprecedented economic wealth that has given us high standards of living. Gradually, a lot of developed and developing countries are adding to an already elevated material prosperity. However, certain important moral values are being compromised in this process due to the desire for more luxuries and the commodification of everything. Increase in economic well-being has created a desire for more and more goods. Nowadays, everyone wants an SUV car despite the availability of less-costly alternatives such as public transport and smaller, more fuel-efficient vehicles. Similarly, a smart phone and an air conditioner are seen as necessities rather than a mere desire. This is leading to erosion of social values such as respect and love for nature. In India, for instance, various plants and trees were traditionally venerated. However, with excessive desires, the young generation has lost any touch with those traditional values. With greater standards of living, humans have commodified everything from women to water. Women are gradually becoming commodities for consumption with the proliferation of pornography, which is a manifestation of material wealth. Similarly, water, which was traditionally venerated as a God in India and was a free resource, is being bottled and sold in the market. Consequently, collective values of respect for women and veneration for water have been eroded beyond repair. In conclusion, humans have increased their standard of living and, in this process, compromised certain social values. However, this does not mean that these high living standards and social values cannot coexist. Since humans tend to find solutions to all problems, we have to devise ways to maintain economic wealth along with morals and ethics.