Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Recent years have seen the emerging trend of people traveling to unconventional locations, which are not exactly meant for tourism. While there are various advantages to the tourists who venture out on such risky trips, these journeys are not without their dangers. The main advantage of visiting difficult terrains and places that pose challenges in terms of harsh living conditions is the experience that such trips offer. When an individual leaves the comfort of his home to embark on a difficult journey, he/she is also preparing his/her mind and body for the anticipated challenges. This assists in confidence-building and improves one’s ability to not shy away in the face of problems in the personal and/or professional arena. Besides mental and psychological benefits, a travel of this kind aids in strength training and teaches an individual the ability to fend for himself/herself, such as hunt and be able to pitch a tent, when present in harsh environments. Moreover, it offers those seeking thrill and adventure to fulfil their desires. This is especially true for the upcoming travel vloggers who choose the most inaccessible and harshest places to travel to and record their journeys. On the other hand, a trip of such magnitude and danger is not likely to be completely safe for tourists. For instance, it is possible that travelers may not be able to locate adequate sustenance in such locations and face starvation and, possibly, even death. It is also likely that they may have underestimated the difficulty of the journey and may not be sufficiently prepared to deal with harsh weather conditions. Moreover, it can become highly difficult to get access to medical facilities, in case an emergency arises, which can further pose a risk to the health of the tourist. Lastly, seamless communication with the outside world cannot be expected in remote places, which, again, restricts one’s ability to contact for help. In conclusion, tourists should be aware of both advantages and disadvantages of traveling to places with difficult conditions, so they could make informed decisions.