Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

There is no doubt that our precious earth is in danger because of many environmental threats. While some people believe that these threats are due to the loss of fauna and flora, others argue that there are more urgent environmental issues. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support that the environmental problems are interdependent. On the one hand, the loss of animal and plant species is a significant environmental issue that affects biodiversity. The loss of particular species may seem very unimportant to some, but is related with the welfare of human population. Furthermore, the extinction of one species may cause the extinction of another and breakdowns ecosystems and food chain. Moreover, plants can absorb carbon dioxide and release oxygen through the process of photosynthesis, but with the deforestation, the amount of oxygen is decreasing and as a result, it impacts human health. Also, is very crucial that the loss of biodiversity can affect our food security, clean air and water, medicine and the range of raw materials. If we do not understand that the humans are embedded in ecosystems and depended on them, the human population will extinct. On the other hand, there are some more critical environmental problems such as global warming. As a result of emission of carbon dioxide, mainly due the burning of fossil fuels for the production of electricity, and other greenhouse gases such as methane and nitrous oxide, the temperature is rising rapidly. This severe issue causes the melt of ice and therefore the rise of sea level, extreme weather conditions, drying out some already arid areas. Moreover, it causes the extinction of some species; several of animals are moving northward to find lower temperatures and plants are changing the dates of activity, leading to the disruption of the ecosystems. Ultimately, the extreme heats will affect the human health, causing cardiovascular and respiratory diseases. To sum up, the global warming is very crucial and inextricably linked with the loss of particular species and plants. In my opinion, we should tackle this challenging environmental problem for saving the environment.