Over consuming sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that the government should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility for sugar intake. What is your opinion on this? Discuss both views

Overconsumption of sugar can be harmful for the human body. According to many people, the control of this issue should be taken by the government, while others think that sugar intake is an individual's responsibility. In my opinion, it is an individual's problem to take care of their health responsibility therefore, the government can only raise awareness of sugar intake. Firstly, many people think the solution to this issue (name it again) is the control of the government such as; higher taxes on sugar which will discourage people to buy them. However, to get a permanent solution, health awareness programs would be a better solution to deal with this health issue. I partially agree with this opinion, to give an example in Turkey the government put taxes on cigarettes, tea and coffee despite this raise people in Turkey do not stop buying and smoking. Secondly, everyone has different types of body and requirements therefore it is not anyone’s business to take care of individuals consumption of sugar. A person who is aware of health issues will have self-control and consume less sugar to itself. However, if the government takes control of overconsumption of sugar, the prevention would be an unfair way to those who consume normally. For instance, some people who go on a diet are conscious of sugar intake, therefore, restrictions are redundant for them. To conclude, although others think the government should take the responsibility, in my opinion, the government can only raise the awareness of health and overconsumption of sugar. On account of this, individuals should be more conscious of their health and consume less sugar.