Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antactic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Evidence suggests that a growing number of holidaymakers tend to vacation in places with an inhospitable environment. Although there are a number of drawbacks involved in this trend, the benefits accruing to tourists are by no means negligible. On the plus side, the advantages for the people flocking to these spots are manifold. To begin with, learning to deal with a hostile climate or difficult circumstances enables these people to be prepared for facing demanding situations in real life. Simply put, they lay the groundwork for the emergence of many valuable attributes that can help individuals rise to a challenge. Take patience which is an uncommon quality as an example; the more one travels to these challenging attractions, the more patient and calm they are bound to appear in face of crises such as financial problems. People, furthermore, can gain invaluable experience and expand their horizons by leaving their comfort zone and taking new risks. However, the downside cannot be ignored. The most axiomatic argument is concerned with the visitors’ safety. That is to say, because these areas are habitat for countless species, they are normally teeming with wild animals who may prey on humans. Considering that the chief aim of these adventurous tourists is to visit natural habitats of certain animals from up close, they are prone to physical injury. A good illustration of this is visiting Cheetahs which are incredibly fast and can outrun any other living creature in the world. Moreover, when these people are addicted to the adrenaline rush, they may simply rob themselves of the sense of joy, as other future experiences are highly unlikely to live up to their raised expectations and prove as fascinating as an excursion to a remote island or a safari in Africa. To conclude, risky trips to places with extreme or harsh conditions can be both rewarding and problematic. While they might help shape travelers’ personality and experience, people’s health and security may be put in jeopardy and they are likely to overshadow the upcoming events in one’s life.