Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In recent times, with the aid of internet and technology, humans can traverse varied geographical areas which were earlier deemed to be unreachable such as The South Pole, The North Pole, The Antarctic, and The Sahara Desert. Although by visiting these places with extreme habitats, tourists can gain cultural knowledge and a source of income, it can also be risky due to the dangers involved. Touring new and unexplored places has always been fascinating for humans. There are many advantages to visiting these places. Firstly, tourists can learn the rich heritage and cultural values from these geographies and can lay a foundation in further research and conservation of their habitats, wildlife, and culture. For example, learning about the food habits and local traditions of the Aboriginals of The Andaman and Nicobar islands has been fascinating and enthralling due to the less documentation available to the outside world. Another advantage is the fact that tourists can even earn some money by sharing their travel vlogs and documentaries as they will capture people's attention. Evidently, touring far and distant places is beneficial for the holidaymakers. On the other hand, the difficult circumstances of these places can be hazardous for the people who plan to sightsee these places. Firstly, the cost involved is usually high which will directly affect a person's budget if there is no proper planning and saving. Secondly, since these locations are generally far-off, it might involve a more prolonged absence from work, thus impacting the work balance. Additionally, safety is a huge concern because it will be challenging to seek help in remote areas. For instance, if a tourist is lost in the middle of the desert and the supply of perishables run low, it is life-threatening. In conclusion, while there are a plethora of positive aspects for the tourists in terms of learning the culture and making a livelihood, there are also negative points with this regard. Trips to these places should be well-planned after taking into consideration the risks involved in the exploration.