It is sometimes thought that people who travel outside of their own country are more tolerant and understanding of others.

Many hold the opinion that those who have visited multiple countries are more culturally enlightened and can adapt to others alot better, in contrast, to those who have not. I fully agree with this statement. For the remainder of this essay, I will discuss the reasons why travelling abroad allows different people to co-exist peacefully. Firstly, when someone goes abroad during the holidays, they have higher exposure to other people and traditions. Therefore, any stereotypes that they have encountered in the past can be set straight. This is because, people often tend to believe things once they live through them. For example, in 2014, my Swedish friend, Ellen, moved to the Middle East, at first she had a very negative misconception about the muslim community. However, after one year of living there her views changed entirely, she then even dated a muslim man, due to the fact that, she understood the religion and its followers in much more detail. Undoubtedly, globetrotting gives a person the upper hand in human interaction. Secondly, although never leaving your home town gives you an in depth understanding of your own society, travelling allows people to expand their minds to acomodate different languages, cultures and music. In turn, learning things you would usually not know through the internet or through books. For instance, I was completey unaware of the cold personalities of German people and thought that they were simply rude and unwelcoming. That was untill i visited Germany in 2016. Consequently, my views changed 100% and i learnt to appreciate their professionalism and monotonous speaking. Overall, there are many misunderstandings when it comes to acknowledging other individuals' cultures, especially when there is no direct exposure to them. In conclusion, visiting other nations paves the way for easier global communication and social enlightenment.