Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are different, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

International tourist arrivals have been increasing year by year according to the popularity of tourism industry and exploration of new tourist attractions. In these days and ages, the trend of people’s travelling has been changing from visiting to cultural and historical areas into travelling exotic and extraordinary places by means of adventure tourism. In this essay, I will point out the advantages and drawbacks for tourists doing such kind of tourism. Travelling to remote areas with different conditions can bring benefits not only to the tourists but also to the local community. For example, some of the far areas are still underdeveloped in social and economic contexts compared with urban areas. In accordance with the development of tourism in such places, there can be easily accessible to those areas and the living standard of local residents can be higher. As for the tourists, they can enjoy new exciting experience and learn new different cultures. On the other hand, there can be drawbacks concerned with the safety and security if people travel to those places. Some of the places such as Antarctic are suffering from severe weather conditions. Furthermore, as these places are far away from residential areas, there is no rescue for emergency case when natural disasters and accidents happen. In conclusion, as people today are more likely to take risks and discover new things, travelling to extraordinary places may become popular as a trend to enjoy the sense of excitement. From my point of view, it is necessary to take consideration personal safety and security and to do well-preparation before travelling