Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Some would believe that college students should study any subject they want, while others would say that the pupils should only choose the practical subjects such as science and technology that have scope in the future. While practical subjects help a country to develop in a rapid pace, I think students should be allowed to study any stream they want in order to allow them to be successful and happy. On the one hand, the fields such as science, technology, engineering and mathematics have practical applications that is necessary to develop a nation rapidly, so students should only choose these subjects in university. This means these subjects develop skills in students that are required to plan, design and manufacture many necessary infrastructures and products which are the back-bone for a nation’s progress. For example, a similar initiative in China resulted in a huge progress in the field of technology since 1989, as 80% of the world’s big companies, nowadays, manufacture their goods there. However, this pressurises many pupils to choose these subjects despite their interests on the other fields. On the other hand, enabling students to select the subject of their interest for higher education makes them successful and happy in their lives. This is to say that there are lots of fields from where the students can choose according to their interest, so one can only work with full concentration and achieve good results when he studies or stays on the track of his own choice. For instance, a study conducted by the BBC News revealed that professionals in Nepal who studied the fields of their choice were found 65% happier and 70% more successful than those who did not have the options to choose from. Therefore, the selection of the subjects for higher education should be the entire decision of a student. In conclusion, although subjects that are useful in the future applications such as science and technology help a nation to grow faster, I think students should be allowed to select their own subject for university so that they could be happy and successful in the future.