Today, more and more people choose to live by themselves. What are the causes of this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times many people prefer to live alone, especially in metropolitan cities. Rise in industrialization has shifted the employment base in and around the major cities making employees to stay away from their hometown and family. Although living alone has its own hurdles, I firmly believe that it is a positive development. First and foremost, staying apart from loved ones not only teaches essential household chores but also helps in shaping one’s personality stronger. Though in the initial phase it looks like a mountain to climb especially for youngsters whose growing years were mostly supervised by parents or guardians. Being a singleton makes them more independent and also improve their personal skills such as cooking, washing the clothes, cleaning the house, paying bills and many more. For instance, research has shown the students from boarding schools who have stayed in hostels since early age are more skilled than day boarders and they cope up better with the challenges thrown by life in all perspectives. Moreover lone dwellers tends to travel and enjoy more than their couple counterparts. While people living with families finds it difficult to be more adventurous due to family commitments, single people have additional time and finances to fulfill their desires. This has led to the development of cities where night life has become the integral part of social life and also the tourist destinations has flourished with increasing number of people visiting them. Thus, surge in overall expenditure of single person cannot be matched by a family man. For example, a survey done by the United States Census Bureau in 2016 in New York city about the modern day expenses by the inhabitants of the city revealed that the main contributors of revenue in entertainment and travelling industries are from the people who are living on their own. To encapsulate, a lone inhabitant is not only more self – dependent but also has supplemental time and resources to enjoy every aspect of modern life as compared to a person living with family.