For many, many years, the practice of awarding the death penalty has been in vogue in the majority of nations around the world. But the question arises, has this practice succeeded in acting as a deterrent in curbing the growing rate of crimes of violence in such countries.

It has been happening for numerous years that giving capital punishment to criminals in many countries and the world. Some people argue that the death penalty has not deterred the crime rate. This essay shall analyze the merits and demerits in the subsequent paragraphs. There are some merits of capital punishment. Firstly, capital punishment deters the criminals from contemplating the crime. This sends a clear message that crime is morally wrong. Secondly, it will eliminate the possibility of reoffending the crime. In other words, if a person is committed a serious crime, the person will be awarded the death penalty, which makes others afraid of committing the crime. Thirdly, it is highly cost-effective and alternate to prisons. This would decrease the burden on the government to maintain the prisons. Finally, people who have committed heinous crimes should be awarded the death penalty, to protect society from criminals. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to awarding the death penalty. Innocent people, who are convicted due to wrong allegations might get killed. Executing someone is equivalent to murder or killing someone. This could create violence in society. Another issue is there is no pain-free killing, so, that the criminals have to go through more pain while getting killed. By contrast, capital punishment does not lower the crime rate. Alternatively, it is better to re-educate and re-socialize the criminals. This effect could give them a chance to change their life. To conclude, capital punishment should only be given to the people who have committed unforgivable crimes but the rest of the criminals would be allowed to change themselves.