NOWADAYS, ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE IS BEING USED TO DRIVE CAR. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the coming years, experts believe that vehicles will be driven autonomously by computers. The main reason for this is the development of artificial intelligence that specialises in manoeuvring cars. This should be seen as a positive development because it will prevent accidents and save lives. In the past few years, there has been an explosion in the advancement of autonomous vehicles due to A. I. Advanced computer learning means that cars and other vehicles can move from point A to point B without the need for human interference. Due to the nature of these self-learning computers, the more they drive, the better they become and this will soon mean that it will be quite normal for people to be driven by computers. For example, Google, Tesla, and Apple all have autonomous driving projects, with Tesla announcing that all of its vehicles will be self-driving within 5 years. This should be welcomed because, despite some initial safety concerns, it will ultimately save lives. This is because most collisions are due to human error and as machine learning gets better and better it will completely eliminate human involvement. This will mean that incidents such as drink driving, falling asleep at the wheel and speeding become a thing of the past. For instance, Elon Musk of Tesla Motors announced that its ‘Auto Pilot’ system has logged over 10 million miles with only one accident. Similar distances with people driving would have resulted in far more road traffic accidents. In conclusion, the emergence of computer-controlled transportation will inevitably become the new standard in driving as computers learn more and should be viewed positively as it will improve safety standards.