Today, many women work outside home. Do you think this could be beneficial or harmful to their children?

Perceived as half of the active labor force, women have adopted a prominent role in the social and economic development of human societies. This trend, although economically desirable, may have caused serious concerns among those people who believe that the social responsibility of mothers might inflict damage to their children in the course of time. From my perspective, the participation of a woman in society can benefit her children too, provided that certain points are taken into account. The modern world is characterized by women receiving higher education and occupying managerial positions, apart from their conventional duties to their family. Economically speaking, the working of a woman promotes the welfare of the family, and children are the ones who benefit the most. Such children can enroll in more extracurricular classes, enjoy a wider range of leisure activities and have the chance to travel more, all of which can contribute to their mental, intellectual and social growth. On the social side, a woman who interacts with society is far more likely to have the awareness required to raise children in today's world. This is specifically important in the present century when the lives of different generations have undergone dramatic changes. Those women who restrict themselves to household chores may be lacking in self-confidence when it comes to disciplining their teenagers, as they end up being accused of having no information about the conditions of the modern world. Hence, a decent social position can help mothers to have a more constructive interaction with children, whose outcome is better upbringing and fewer behavioral disorders among adolescents. There are, however, certain problems that may arise. Obviously, working women have less time to spend with their children, which can lead to frustration and dissatisfaction in the family. This matter assumes more importance when it comes to infants and children under five, who are desperately dependent on their mother. When at home, a woman having worked at least eight hours may have little, if any, energy to fulfil her maternal duties, a situation which has become even more complicated thanks to the advent of teleworking and the possibility to work at home. Having said that, these problems can be addressed, or minimized, if women receive enough support and training that would enable them to draw a sharp distinction between their private and social lives. Men appear to have a critical role here, because it is their understanding and cooperation that can help their wives to be socially active. Besides, many governments have adopted and implemented laws which support working women, such as long maternity leave, reduced working hours, early retirement and the provision of childcare facilities in the workplace. To sum up, without suggesting that the absence of mothers in the family is not a major cause for concern, I believe that a women can assume and perform her social roles, if supported by her family and the government. It should be remembered that women constitute half of the workforce, and spending all their time raising their family is illogical, wasteful and inconsistent with the long-term interests of society.