Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

At present, importing foods from different countries is more prevalent over the world. In response to this issue, the essay will provide an exegesis on both sides of the phenomenon to maintain that proclaiming an absolute stance will undermine the complexity of the perceived problem. First, the importing of foods would help to develop the economy of export countries, especially developing countries. For instance, Vietnam ranked the first grain exporter in the world when the United States approved the distribution of this product over the whole country in 2017. According to the annual national economic report published by the Vietnamese government, it reported that this action contributed to increasing dramatically the economic growth by 5%, compared to 2% for the statistic of the previous years. Thus, there would be a positive development because it helps to boost the economy in the third countries. On the other hand, the quality of foods should be considered to import in one country due to their effects on local people’s health. For instance, the boom emergence of fast foods imported from western countries could change the eating habits of Vietnamese children in a negative way. Parents tend to choose this kind of food because they do not have enough time to cook as well as their kids like that. However, fast foods which contain excessive the amount of salt and oil easily cause the high risk of obesity for children. Therefore, people should pay more attention to the quality of imported goods in terms of health. In conclusion, this essay has provided an argument for the impartial stance concerning importing foods: on the one hand, developing countries could increase economic growth by export goods to other counties; on the other hand, the quality of imported foods should be taken into account as for people’s health.