In many schools and universities today, women have a tendency to study the humanities (such as the arts and languages) while men more often major in science related subjects. Some believe this tendency should be changed.

Recent information about students of different educational places shows us that females more frequently chose to study the humanities while males prefer science subjects. It seems to me that there is nothing wrong with the statistic, so there is no need in forced changes. To begin with, every person must have the right to choose, especially when it comes to a sphere they want to thrive in. It is extremely important that people have interest in what they are doing. For instance, if you have to do something you do not like, then it would not be done well. In addition, learning subjects you do not find appealing can lead to a lack of motivation and, as a result, you might become disappointed in yourself. Besides that, we should not forget that people have got different abilities as well as propensity for particular things. There is no need to generalize either women’s or men’s choices. I suppose such tendency is affected by the way of upbringing. But not everyone fits this stereotype, therefore making society feel the need to prove that it is wrong to choose your own path. So, at some point we actually start to believe that it is. It is hard for as to accept that girl can do math, and boy likes cooking. This is the thing that should be changed. To summarize, what I am trying to say is that what needs to change will change naturally, depending on human’s wellbeing. Nobody asked for made up and unnecessary changes. The only thing we can do it is to make sure people feel free about their decisions.