Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

The reason(s) why kids spend more time on computer games is because you do not necessarily need to exercise any form of physical activities to play computer games. You can easily play a video game at the comfort of your home without considerations to climatic conditions; whether it rains or shines, it does not matter when you are playing video game. Video games do not always need two players. You can play the game alone. You can also play with two or more people. So, it gives users the opportunity to decide how they want to play. Another reason children spend time on computer game is because, you can just wake up from your sleep and pick your game pad and start off immediately. There are varieties of games you can chose from using computer game, so this create a lot of engagement among children. Video games can be played by almost anybody. You don't have to be physically strong or mentally intelligent to play video game because it has a simple interface with the users. The creation of video game in my opinion, create a negative effect on the children. Though, there are also positive impact on the children. But the negatives outweighs the positives. For example, children spends a lot of time on computer games these days and little time on their studies or sports. Sport is very good because it involves your whole body. Sport is a form of exercise which means that it is very healthy for children to be engaged in sporting activities. It is healthy for their overall well being. Sport also gives the children opportunity to develop team work because sport usually involves group of people playing as team against another group of people. Children involve in sporting activities mostly have good communication skill. Sport can be taken as a career in the future for these kids. It is important that parents should train their kids to cultivate habits to indulge in these games. For example, if the child love football, as a parents you should always take the child to outdoor activities that involve football. In this way, the child can develop his skill in playing football which may be useful for him especially if he is planning to take on career in sports. In conclusion, children should spend more time on sport instead of computer games because the benefits associated with sports is immense compare to just spending a lot of time in computer games which can be very unhealthy because it can lead to obesity (health wise) and distractions from school's activities - some children skip classes or do not have time to do homework given by their teacher because they spend more time playing computer games.