Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, numerous children indulge their leisure time in playing video games and decreased duration in various sports activities. This is due to the increasing amount of different gaming platform that attracts young minds in playing games more often. I believe that these games can have a negative impact on their developmental stage similarly these can also act as an educational tool to boost their knowledge level. The preceding paragraphs will state the various factors for the given statement. Firstly, video games were played during summer breaks to avoid scorching heatwaves. Later on, playing computer games became a current trend for every child irrespective of the time. On one hand, these led to a decline in their overall mental and physical well-being. Children became addicted to the world of fantasies rather the reality. They also developed various health-related problems such as obesity, poor pragmatic skills and decreased vision all due to the increased amount of zooming into the game. For example, a few years ago, in the state of California where one student shot his classmates due to his aggressive behavior that was created by playing extremely violent games, the state government later banned the entire gaming platform for under-aged children to avoid further jeopardy in the future. On the other hand, computer games can also be used for educational purposes so that learning can become more enjoyable and interesting but under strict supervision and guidance. Secondly, Children should spend more time playing outdoor activities rather than just playing on computer games. Children who prefer to play different sports develop their skills required for their growth as well as it can also improve their health overall. These children will have more focus goals in life rather than just binging on fantasy world. They will be calm and composed in nature too. To conclude, spending too much time on computer games can sometimes have a negative development but if used properly these can be the best way to learn various skills required for the future and one can balance it by spending equal amount of time playing sports too.