Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Habits inculcated during childhood, plays a crucial role in shaping overall personality of a child. In current times, inclination of the kids towards computer based activities for enticement is far more than the physical activities. Today in this essay i will discuss about the causes of such interest and both pros and cons associated with playing on computers. Firstly, due to breakthrough in the information technology, on the daily basis new and upgraded versions of computers are becoming available in the markets. Nowadays every house is computer equipped, and this is also the need of hour in order to keep pace with the current world. Hence almost certainly it proves the involvement of young kids in the computer is quite obvious; to do the research for completing their school projects and assignments. It also helps them to remain well versed with the latest happenings at the international level by internet access and downloading documents etc. On the contrary, it increases the time spend by the children on computers as soon as the task is achieved, they start playing games which are far more attractive than their usual sports. If the children continue to allocate long hours on computers either for work or for entertainment, it would definitely have a negative effect on their physical well being. Sports outdoors particularly like cricket, football and badminton have a positive effect on the physical fitness of the kids. Undoubtedly certain problems of obesity, lethargically and laziness can be tackled effectively by involving in sports. Furthermore sedentary lifestyle will contribute towards seclusion of the child from the peers and makes him introvert. I agree up to an extent, by increasing indulgent in sports or balancing computers with physical exercises will keep the child happy, social able, connected with the colleagues and inculcate healthy competition to remain satisfied. To conclude, in current scenario spending time on computers is inevitable for getting the tasks done as well as to be technically up to date. However after analyzing merits and demerits of playing on computers and physical sports I strongly suggest balanced approach would play vital role in keeping the children physically and mentally healthy.