Some people think that the criminals who commit minor crimes should be made to do unpaid community work. Do u agree?

While many think that the people who commit minor crimes should be made to do community work without paying them, others believe that they should be kept behind the bars. I support the latter idea as I believe that criminals are criminals no matter how big or small the crime is. Nowadays crimes are increasing at an alarming rate. Because of the increasing population and decreasing employment opportunities, more people are committing crimes to survive. This has become a serious social problem. Thus, if a minor crime is given an excuse, it will encourage other criminals to do more heinous crimes as they will think that the repercussions of their minor crime is negligible. Hence, although making them do unpaid community service may be beneficial for society, not prosecuting them for small crimes will encourage them to do more serious crimes. For example, there has been few cases where major crimes like kidnapping, rape and murder were committed by the same people who committed minor crimes. Thus, even small crimes like reckless driving, trespassing or breaking traffic rules should be punished and the offender should be kept behind the bars so that they will not repeat it in the future. Furthermore, it is equally important to know the circumstances under which a crime was committed and the punishment should be given according to the severity of the crime. Thus, the more serious the crime, the more serious the consequences. Thus to conclude, I believe that community service is not the permanent solution for the criminals who commits heinous crimes.