Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

There are 2 major reasons why many children play computer games rather than take part in sport in their spare time. And this is probably because of the intensively busy schedule of parents. A case in a point is dual worker families, which are the most popular type of households nowadays, both men and women are working from 8 to 5 and sharing the financial burden together. As a consequence, they do not have time to play outdoor activities with offsprings so computer games become a kill time things for the children. However, it then turns into an addiction and phenomenon among the young. Another factor for making young people immerse in games is that the substantial development of graphics in games, which from simple 2D images into an over-engrossing visual aid. This will capture children’s attention easily. Taking League of Legends as an example, this game is synonymous with futuristic and innovative designs, which lead to its throne position in the gaming industry. Despite the reasons presented above, I firmly believe that this is a negative development. Firstly, spending too much time on games can lead to many serious health problems, such as weak eyesight, obesity, mental illness. Besides, games nowadays are often based on violence and battlefields, which may influence the children’s awareness. For instance, many cases were done by game addiction criminals due to aggressive feelings or thoughts after playing violent games.