Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water is often proclaimed as another name of life. Given the natural composition of earth, the living beings and the natural statures where water dominates other materials by an unbeatable range, the proverb is an established truth. Hence, water pollution is concerning the existence of this earth system, which in turn affects the humans living in it, along with other living beings. In modern times, the first records of water pollution began to appear being tagged with "Industrial Revolution" and its' byproduct. While industrial revolution has motorized the human civilization and paved the way for modern science and technology advancement, the unintended consequences has badly affected the natural ecosystem. The major causes of water pollution includes uncontrolled dumping of wastes (urban and industrial wastages majorly) at water bodies, non-monitored usage of insecticides and fertilizers at agricultural fields, water transportation vehicles dumping fuel wastes and many other assisting factors. During the 1800s, the industrial revolution caused massive production of garments and the clothing industry started to build a strong foundation. Large amount of water is used in the process which were often not filtered or processed before being returned to the reservoirs. The locomotives were also often found to leave coal wastages at rivers. The major rivers of London were massively polluted due to these dominating industries, which were slowly recovered during the 1960s. To this date, most industries around the world leave the wastages at water reservoirs, in fact industries tend to choose a place near a large enough water body so that they have the required water supply at ease and also can dump wastages without further complications. The plastic usage has increased manifolds over the last century, almost every other household utils, educational stuffs are wrapped in either plastic covers or packages in plastic bottles. The huge amount of plastic dumps from the wealthy countries are often found to be transported to Asian countries like Indonesia, Bangladesh to be recycled and sometimes, the package is sent in disguise. The pollutants coming from any sort of industrial wastages and plastic dumps are changing the water ecosystem. The first negative wave is hitting the animals living in sea, rivers and other water bodies, where their foods and living space is being invaded by unwanted wastages. The news headlines are often flooded with sea turtles being choked by plastics. On the other hand, the land-living animals are being deprived of fresh water for drinking. Often they are forced to attack in human localities in search of fresh water. The human society is affected in a different way. The segregrated social system of benefitting the rich people first keeps this privileged class away from the problem of water scarcity or having to drink dirty water. African countries where inadequate rain and scarcity of water is a reality, the problem to deal with polluted water is an added burden. The rising sea level due to global warming is also lessening fresh water reservoirs at coastal countries, which in turn is making the people living there vulnerable for drinking water resources. Given the natural condition of earth where the fresh water source is very limited, the consequences of polluting water resources is being self-destructive, as well as depriving the rights of animal beings.