Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability.

People have different opinions about evaluating the student’s knowledge. Although some people believe that their levels should be tested by taking exams, I agree with those who think that they feel pressurized in exam conditions and do not render(give) their best performance. On the one hand, supporters of formal examinations argue that there are some benefits of conducting exams. Primarily, it could be argued that there is no means of cheating. As students perform under the supervision of invigilators, there are a few chances of copying from someone's assignment. For example, many studies have shown that 90% of learners use no copying material in exams rather than copying from websites in the case of projects or assignments. Moreover, they claim that it is a standardised way of testing knowledge. Since all students take their test under the same conditions and allotted time, they can be assessed about their position in the group and at the national level. On the other hand, I side with those who feel that exams do not tell about the true abilities when young ones are put under exam conditions. Firstly, many exam-takers suffer from nerves in examination hall. As many of them have fear in recalling the information learnt in a room environment, it is not the right way to test them. Furthermore, pupils often study to pass the test instead of acquiring knowledge. Most of the exams conducted formally have a fixed academic syllabus which means that they cram the whole syllabus just a few days before. For instance, a recent survey conducted by University of British Columbia revealed that most of the students forget their syllabus within one week as they crammed questions just before an exam. Therefore, they should be assessed using various other methods of testing such as assignments and projects. In conclusion, while formal exams provide students with no chance of copying from their fellows, they usually suffer from anxiety when they take an exam in a fixed time and find difficulty in recalling information. Therefore, I believe that students should not be levelled on the basis of examinations as they might feel under pressure.