Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and a little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Computer has become an integral part of our day to day operations. Nowadays even children opt to play computer games instead of playing actual ground sports mainly because they can enjoy realistic experience of almost every game sitting at home. This is a negative development as it affects children’s health in many aspects. Today science and technology offer realistic effects to video games which children can play sitting at home. Children are able to compete with their friends in these games via virtual internet connection. For example, Play-station offers new FIFA football game every year with realistic team players making children enthusiastic about playing it. Scarcity of playgrounds due to concrete jungles in cities is another reason that children are forced to stay indoors. Parents have become extremely busy with their work and addicted to social media on smartphones that they have very little time on weekdays for children. This can be one more reason for the increased amount of time spent on computer games. Not playing ground sports has a huge negative impact on kids’ health. It affects their physical health by reducing flexibility and endurance. Childhood obesity is increasing day by day leading to multiple health issues in young individuals. For example, according to a study in the USA, more and more young adults are diagnosed with diabetes and hypertension as a result of childhood obesity. Prolonged exposure to computer screen causes a lot of stress on eyes. Along with all the health issues, spending excessive time on computer games is making children socially less active which is not good for psychosocial development. To sum it up, children are becoming more inclined towards computer games rather than ground sports due to advancements in technology and it leads to negative health effects and social aloofness / poor interpersonal skills.