Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology is a tool that is used for anything and day by day our privacy is getting tampered because of the unaware public who are used to the old technology. Privacy is a basic right of everyone but some monitoring technologies for example video calling helps a person a lot as we can talk to anyone in this world from our room using video calls but what if a third person is observing your video call? Advancement in technology cannot outweigh the effect by the disadvantages of the camera recordings or something else. There are some advantages like the presence surveillance camera makes a robber to think twice while committing a crime eventually it reduces the crime rate and on the other hand the same surveillance data can be used to track a person's lifestyle and know when is the time to invade into their home as they are out. Nowadays, people also share photographs in social media sites without proper knowledge of their privacy policy. Which might be used to morph their faces or other cybercrime activities. People are unaware of all such risks and still tend to use social media websites to increase their popularity in the society. Not only the photographs and surveillance cameras, even our phone calls are recorded and used to make our personal products to the companies that need to know what people really want and advertise the same thing according to our lifestyle. As a matter of fact, the company person knows what we want before we ourselves decide to buy a product. More ways to monitor the society and invade their privacy will emerge in future but we need to decide if we need such an invasion of our privacy and at what cost. Our privacy is more valuable than the advantages we experience with the advancement in technology.