Today family members eat fewer meals with each other. Why is this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

It is often noticed that having meals with family members has recently become less common. While various reasons are associated with this phenomenon, from my perspective, this is an overall negative phenomenon, as people will become unhealthy and lonely. To begin with, a fast and advanced lifestyle is one of the main reasons why people are not having traditional meals with each other. These days, people, whether they are students or employees, do not have sufficient time to sit and enjoy dinner or lunch with their loved ones. This is because less expensive instant and ready-to-eat foods may perfectly suit their needs while travelling to schools or offices. Apart from this, individuals may not have time to prepare home-cooked food, as it requires a lot of hard work and time that they do not have. Therefore, families are not enjoying traditional meals with their dear ones. Furthermore, I wholeheartedly believe this has a detrimental impact on families and individuals. The biggest drawback is that families are falling apart. This is because they have not frequently eaten meals together. It may lead to a lack of emotional bonding and understanding between family members. As a consequence, the number of nuclear families has significantly increased since the last two decades. Another disadvantage is that people may not consume healthy foods, which would certainly protect them from serious diseases like diabetes and obesity. Thus, having fewer meals with loved ones means having more health issues among them. In conclusion, although having a modern lifestyle and a lack of time to cook food at home are primary causes that encourage this trend, in my opinion, having fewer meals with families is obviously negative, as it makes people unhealthy and unhappy.