Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, people tend to skip family meals too often. This essay considers non-accommodable schedules to be the primary reason for this trend, and it has adversely deteriorated the values as families no longer relish each other's company. A demanding job and stringent timelines leave no other option than prioritizing office over relations. Many people spend most of the time working or attending meetings even at odd hours that there is no common time for all members to sit and share a meal. My own house is a perfect example of this situation where my husband works in MST timezone as all his co-workers reside in Florida, and I work in the EST timezone, making it nearly impossible to have a shared time for dinner. There is no doubt that it negatively impacts relationships between family members. People under the same roof need to communicate and spend time together in order to maintain the bond of love and care, and eating meals together provides an opportunity for the same. Fewer meals mean people will not be connected on a deeper level, and children will stop sharing things with their parents as parents would have no time to listen to them. For example, a couple might lack an emotional connection and feel insecure expressing feelings if they do not indulge in chit-chat over dinners. In conclusion, busy work life has caused a decrement in family mealtime. And sadly, it has more cons as it has led to dysfunctional families where people might live in the same house but do not interact with each other.