Today family members do not eat meals. Is this a positive and negative trend?

In the last few years, it has become less common for families member to have meals together. For my perspective, this is a positive trend for the development of society and individuals. On the one hand, the case for family members not eating meals together is beneficial as it engenders more free time to pursue personal pursuits for each individual. It is undeniable that eating alone is often less time-consuming than family meals. Therefore, people can derive a substantial amount of time from enjoying having meals with themselves and devote it to personal businesses and interests. For instance, by dedicating less time to sharing meals with parents and siblings, a senior high-school student can spend time doing his homework and attending extra classes as well as engaging in social activities. As a result, this students is likely to achieve a study-live balance, which allows him to put enough effort into his academic work while still ensuring him have time for social aspects of being a student. However, with no family meals, members will deprive themselves of valuable opportunities to strengthen their relationship with each other. It is true that modern people are increasingly beset with their duties. Therefore, having meals together seems to be a fundamental occasion for every family member to share with others news. Furthermore, each member can gain a sense of intimacy with another, thus solidifying their connection. To cite an example, a recent survey has found that the frequency of western family having meals together witnessed a decline over the past few decades. This downward trend has accompanied a reduction in communication and feelings of togetherness among Western family members and family bonding become weaken. In conclusion, with the development of society, it is positive for family member having more free time to do their businesses and hobbies. However, balancing time with family and friends is still essential for everyone