In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. Do the advantages of these developments outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that information technology (IT) is increasing from the last 20 years such as websites or email. This essay will argue that the advantages of this development are eclipsed by the disadvantages involved. It is undeniable that IT can be advantageous to a certain extent. Regarding the first advantages, creating more meetings without face-to-face contact. For example, The period of epidemic as covid-19, the government encouraged workers to telecommute at home so this issue was solved by email. As a result, their health was safe and the time saved could be used to do more work. Another benefit is that students explore more topics in websites, especially those of their interest which can arouse curiosity and encourage autonomy so they develop self-study skills and instill a passion for learning in children. The drawbacks brought about by the field of information technology, nevertheless, could far outweigh the aforementioned benefits. Perhaps one of these is that most people lose their information by hacking websites. There are reports of users complaining that websites request to update human's information such as credit card or identity card number since hackers sell or use this for bad purposes. The second issue is that Email has become the dominant means of communication, there has been growing unwillingness to engage in face-to-face communications. As a result, people reduce interaction with others and become passive in the process of communication. In conclusion, IT can offer several benefits. However, this phenomenon can produce some negative impacts which are of greater significance.