Today culture is becoming more or less similar all around the world. Is it a positive or negative trend?

Becoming a host country of some sport events can be considered an honour. However, some people argue that it can cause several issues for the selected country. In this essay, I shall explain both views regarding the advantages and disadvantages of becoming a host country and argue the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, on the one hand, it is true that becoming a host of the matches is not easy for a country. For example, Indonesia was chosen to become the host country of ASEAN Games 2018. The government had to spend money on the development of sport buildings and some facilities around them. Furthermore, the local councils had to deal with the reconstruction of some facilities after the competitions. On the other hand, by becoming a host, countries have the opportunity to be widely known. Moreover, it can also strengthen the relationship among countries. For example, so many spectators came to Indonesia to give their support for the athletes from their home countries. After they watched the matches, most people did not directly fly back to their home, they visited some sites around the area. I personally believe this is the most effective way to introduce our country to foreign visitors. To sum up, although becoming a host country can lead to several issues, I personally believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Although a country has to spend much on preparing the supporting facilities for the matches, the recognition that the country gains can boost tourism which can increase the country’s revenue.