Today, a lot of teenagers find it difficult to choose between getting a job or continuing their education after graduating from high school.

In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. In some countries, teenagers are promoted to take a year off for working or traveling after graduating high school and going to tertiary schools. A gap year is considered a fascinating experience. However, others supposed that it is very waste of time. This trend would create benefits but there will also be some drawbacks. In this essay, we will weigh up the pros and cons of this issue. On the one hand, it is clear that to spend a year working or traveling would create several positive aspects. One evident strength is that it would be a precious time for everyone to experience and enhance many life skills which people are not studied at school. In other words, traveling could help everyone to widen their perspectives by discovering new cultures which is a far cry from their country. It is enough for them to cope with their problem as quickly as they can. Another reason is that it would help to broaden professional opportunities. Therefore, people can seek a better career with a higher payment than in their country. On the other hand, there are some obvious negative aspects that would arise. One of the main drawbacks of moving away and having a job in another country is that it is hard to integrate. Many people who take a year off find it tough to deal with language barriers, cuisine, and other cultural differences. All of these are the cause of homesickness. Another problem is that taking a year in a foreign country is time-consuming. Take youngsters who take twelve months for working or traveling instead of attending university for example, their graduated process will be slower than that of their peers. Moreover, there are more career opportunities for people who graduated earlier than others and it is prompter for them to be promoted. In conclusion, each has its own perks. Therefore, we need to consider carefully about the pros of the better lifestyle and the cons of difficulty integrating. Regarding my perspective, each young people should take into his or her motivations carefully before finalizing what the most desirable is. Time is precious for everybody. Consequently, teenagers should learn how to use it effectively.