Tobacco is a kind of drug

Every year, thousands of people die from smoking tobacco all over the world. Some hold the view that tobacco should be prohibited to use. I do not totally agree with this view. In this essay, I shall give reasons to support my argument and form my opinion. To begin with, tobacco especially cigarettes have many detrimental effects on people’s health. Drug abuse is a key factor which causes the lung cancer and a great possibility of heart attack or dental problems. Moreover, using tobacco gives smokers a high chance of an early grave and it holds true for those who are around smokers due to second-hand smoke. Women who are pregnant will be seriously affected by the active smokers, thus it can develop congenital defects for the baby later. Therefore, a tobacco prohibition seems to be a must. However, there are many drawbacks of tobacco banning. Firstly, some smokers who oppose this regulation can form an organized crime so that they can be free to use tobacco. As a result, there is an increase in violence because these organizations are against the police’s actions. This can make the society becomes more complicated than ever. Hence, this policy cannot work well as it is believed. Secondly, manufacturing of drug can generate a lot of benefits that prosper a country as a whole. This income comes from the tax which companies, as well as consumers, have to pay. Additional, drug factories allowed to operate will create more employment chances for job seekers. This can lead to a growth of standards of living for residents. Thus, in my opinion, the government should put controls on- the manufacturing and consumption of tobacco instead of enforcing a prohibited regulation. The reason for this is that government may have a huge loss of income and deal with the unstable social issues. To put it into the nutshell, I pen down with my view that tobacco should not be banned but it should be put into the limits to ensure the society’s health as well as economy.