To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Medical studies have shown that smoking not only lead towards the problems for the smoker, but also for the people who are in their surroundings. As a result of this, many believe that smoking should not be allowed in public places. Although there are arguments on both sides, I strongly agree with this statement and I think its most appropriate to ban smoking in public. Opponents of such a ban argue against it for several reasons. Firstly, they say that passive smokers make the choice to breathe in other people’s smoke by going to places where it is allowed. In addition, they believe a ban would possibly drive many bars and pubs out of business as smokers would not go there anymore. They also argue it is a matter of freedom of choice. Smoking is not against the law, so individuals should have the freedom to smoke where they wish. However, there are more convincing arguments in favor of a ban. Firstly, the smoking packet its self says that smoking can lead towards heart disease and lung cancer and many more problems it’s not safe for the people who smoke because of these problems Anyone around them can develop cancers of the lungs, mouth and throat, and other sites in the body. It is simply not fair to impose this upon another person in this cases. To conclude, it is clear that it should be made illegal to smoke in public places. This would improve the health of thousands of people in surroundings, and that is most definitely a positive development for everyone.