People are encouraged to get rid of things in order to get newest fashion and latest technologies. Do the disadvantages of throwaway society outweigh the economic advantages

Owing to the easy availability and affordability, modern humans usually follow the use-and-throw culture which stimulates them to give away the old damaged products in order to buy latest fashionable items and current technological appliances; however, this trend can make them face some undesirable repercussions. The following paragraphs would shed light on some of the merits and demerits of such consumer behaviour. To begin with, increased consumerism, nowadays, has proven beneficial for not only the consumers but also the wagers that have gained better employment opportunities due to mass production of products which, in turn, is significant for the overall economical progression of any nation. Secondly, an increased demand for items puts limelight on multifarious manufactures in the mamarket, whichncreases the number of options to the buyers to choose from. Contrarily, the throw-away culture imposes catastrophic effects on the environment either by putting aquatic life in danger as tons of garbage is dumped into the water bodies or by releasing harmful fumes on burning. This in turn affects human life by the entrance of pollutants in the food chain. It is rightly said, curses, like chickens, come home to roost. To substantiate it, I would like to quote an example of a research, published in the Journal of Industrial Ecology, showed that the consumers are responsible for more than 60% of the globe’s greenhouse gas emissions. In addition, people follow this trend blindly just to satiate their never-ending crazes to appear superior than others and to accomplish this, they spend extravagantly, sometimes, beyond their reach. Moreover, potential to buy items in excess emerges from the ability to earn more which makes people to work rigorously to the point that they forget to draw a line between work and personal life. This increases the chances of stress and anxiety as the peace of mind gets sacrificed to achieve the endless desires.